Week 24: Things I Didn’t Know About Pregnancy

Ok, if I’m honest, I didn’t really know much at all about pregnancy 24 weeks ago. My attitude has mostly been ‘see what happens’ while keeping up with the main protocols; passing on the booze, etc.

Also, I’ve had a very straight forward pregnancy so far. People are constantly asking if I’m tired, but to be honest, most of the time I don’t feel much different to before I was pregnant. In fact, I probably feel better. It’s like having a huge detox. I can’t even remember the last time I was hungover, and for me, that’s pretty incredible.

But, as time goes on, I’m starting to get the odd ‘niggle’. Here are some of the things I didn’t expect during pregnancy.

1. Itchy & Scratchy.
So. Annoying. This started early on, probably in the first few weeks. My back is constantly itchy, so much so that when it first started I was scratching so much that I made myself bleed. I’m used to it now, and no longer bleeding, but its still pretty damn annoying.

2. I got gas.
There’s no nice way of putting this. I’ve been trumping like a trooper for a number of weeks now. Sometimes its a bit awkward, like I can’t stop myself. I hope this calms down once the boy has arrived, it’s getting embarrassing!

3. Rib-tastic.
My ribs hurt. Who knew that your ribs could hurt.

4. Hairy Belly.
Wow, making this list is making me realise how attractive pregnancy is. So, I don’t (yet) have the line of dark hair down my belly, but I have grown a little collection of random hairs all over my bump. How lovely.

5. Hangin’ Out
More of an obsession than a ‘symptom’, I’ve taken to sitting with my belly out whenever I’m just chillin’ at home. Maybe not alllll the time, but if boy is kicking, I’m getting the belly out. I love seeing my bump jump up and down every now and then.

What have been your most unexpected experiences of pregnancy?

2 thoughts on “Week 24: Things I Didn’t Know About Pregnancy

  1. Love this post! When I first got pregnant my cousin mentioned to me how “glamorous” pregnancy is. Basically making a joke about how it is SO not glamorous whatsoever! Your comments about gas made me seriously LOL at my desk at work, but only because this morning….it has been insanely bad for me too!

    My most unexpected experiences of pregnancy is the swelling ankles. Last night I swear my ankles disappeared and it just went right from calves to feet. So highly unattractive. And then a nice biiiiig red, splotchy, non-itchy rash all over my stomach and going down to my thighs. Talked to my doctor about it and she said it’s called Tinea…basically a skin yeast. I wish I could share a photo of what my face looked like when she said “skin yeast”. It seems as each week passes, something new, weird, and likely gross, starts happening! I’m at 24 weeks too by the way 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the comment! Glad to know it’s not just me!
    Skin yeast does indeed sound a bit terrifying. And we’re only half way through.. I wonder what other joys we have to look forward to!

    Like

Leave a Reply

